Uncategorized

What do glow-in-the dark condoms, card tricks and suicide prevention have in common?

Well, now that I have your attention….I want to tell you about a really unique health fair that I participated in at The University of Richmond. “Pleasurefest,” an enticing moniker and much sexier and fun than “college heath fair,” definitely peaked my curiosity as a suicide prevention booth vendor, and likewise spurred interest in the collegiate set to spend some time focusing on their physical and mental health between classes yesterday.

What impressed me most, once I got past the “learn how to pour a healthy shot,” and the selection of fruit flavored condoms and paraphernalia to learn how to appropriately fit one, was the unabashed interest in all of these “kids” – OMG did I just say that?

I am only 40 and technically could have birthed some of these people…but, in all seriousness, this next generation of social media savvy 20-somethings who think Twitter, Instagram and Facebook are “Like so 2000,” are the next hope for a reduction in stigma, in my point of view, related to mental illness and suicide.

 My co-hort and I actually had students walking up to our booth standing there reading materials, asking us questions, signing up to volunteer at our events, and offering to hang flyers in their dorms. What?? Where was the shame, the stigma, the whispering?? I was so HAPPY to talk to these smart, brilliant, confident people!

 The students I talked to were shocked at the statistics in their University’s state – that the second leading cause of suicide amongst their own age group – the 18-24 year old set – is suicide. “WHAT?” they said. “Sure. I’ll put up your flyer. I’d love to walk. I think I know some friends that could benefit from this information.”

 Man, I left his event so full of hope. Suicide prevention is not an easy topic for everyone. I have watched people at other events slowly walk away thinking please don’t look at me. But guess what folks, mental illness now affects one in four people! Mental illness is a brain disorder, no different from cancer, which can affect anyone regardless of race, gender or religion. It crosses all socio-economic borders. It is an equal opportunity disorder.

 But these kids! These kids wanted information! They are our hope for the future. A future without shame, without stigma. A future, where perhaps, there will be social platforms to connect people who need help with immediate resources to keep them alive for another day. Talk with your 18-24 year old today. I bet they will be more receptive to listening to you talk about mental health than you think. We owe it to them to reduce these shocking statistics in Virginia. As college acceptance letters are rolling in for your children, take a moment to tell them how important it is to pay attention to BOTH their physical health and mental health. Make sure they know where the counseling center is at their future university and that they know you are always available to talk with them no matter what is happening in their life.  Know the signs. Visit http://www.afsp.org/preventing-suicide/risk-factors-and-warning-signs to start the conversation and make sure they know that 24/7 they can always call the Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 1-800-273-TALK (8255) to talk through problems or to seek help for themselves or a friend.

So, if you were curious enough about something as silly as glow-in-the dark condoms to read this article, do me a favor and click through to read about something serious – suicide risk factors….you may just save a life. #suicide prevention #trytomatter

http://www.trytomatter.com

facebook/matthewpatrickgearytrust

4 thoughts on “What do glow-in-the dark condoms, card tricks and suicide prevention have in common?

  1. Pingback: What do glow-in-the dark condoms, card tricks and suicide prevention have in common? | TrytoMATTter

  2. Great post, Shannon — and it does give me hope when I read about the reactions that you got. I am going to repost on FB.

  3. Thanks for reading and reposting Aimee. I really think these kids get it. I did a 5K for @SAVE on UofR’s campus and there were college students taking part. It makes me really hopeful for this age group. Its so important at this is the age, when many symptoms start to present, that they recognize when they need to seek help and that they feel comfortable doing it.

  4. Shannon, Once again I am so proud of you for fighting the fight to educate the importance of prevention and awareness of all mental illness. It can no longer be an issue unspoken. Too many people of all ages are at risk if we don’t have an honest and open dialogue.

Leave a comment